Group of Seven

Group of seven

Group of Seven officially came together after the return of Tom Thomson from the US. However, their movement did not officially start until 1917, which was triggered by the death of their friend Thomson in 1917.

The group of seven held loyalty to Thomson as a friend, but more importantly they admired him as an artist. That is why after his death, they pursued his vision of capturing the beautiful landscape of Canada. Their contribution to the Canandian culture made them significant storytellers of the Canadian story.

Their paintings are featured in the McIntosh Mug collection including works by A.J. Casson, Lawren S. Harris, A.Y. Jackson, Franklin Carmichael, Frank Johnston, and Arthur Lismer.